In what order should I read the Robert Langdon books?

  • The Robert Langdon book series by Dan Brown consists of:

    • Angels & Demons (2000)
    • The Da Vinci Code (2003)
    • The Lost Symbol (2009)
    • Inferno (2013)
    • Origin (2017)

    Does it make the most sense to read them in that order, or does it not matter if they're read in the right order?

    So funny to see that this question was migrated from Literature to Science Fiction & Fantasy.

    I'm voting to close this question as off-topic because I think it belongs on (where it came from) - this is neither Sci-Fi nor Fantasy.

    This was migrated from the old [], which failed in beta. There is now a new one, which seems to be doing quite well.

  • Errant

    Errant Correct answer

    9 years ago

    The books can be easily read standalone, there is very little cross over between them (despite having the same protagonist). If you read them in publishing order (which is also chronological) you will get a little more from it.

    However, the three books have quite different appeals. Beyond the common theme of symbology:

    1. Angels & Demons (my favourite) combines technology and religion
    2. The Da Vinci Code has a lot about puzzles and history
    3. The Lost Symbol is Freemasonry, and has more "action" than the last two

    Given that the crossover is minimal, this could influence any choice in reading order (or even whether you read them all!)

    are you sure? angels and demons was before da vinvi code

    I wasn't listing them in order :) just wrote the list as I went. Sorry for the confusion!

    tnx for order ... i wrote comment because question was What order should I read the Robert Langdon books?

License under CC-BY-SA with attribution

Content dated before 6/26/2020 9:53 AM