How do you calculate spell ability and spell save dc?

  • So I read this:

    Spell save DC = 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Intelligence modifier
    Spell attack modifier = your proficiency bonus + your Intelligence modifier

    Now, in this case is 8 just a base number or is that supposed to be the intelligence score? I am mainly confused because if it is the score and that is for a wizard that it very low. I'm trying to determine the numbers I would then require to place for spellcasting ability, spell save dc and spell attack bonus.

    Is English not your first language? For our downvoters, sometimes if English is not one's first language the rules text can be a bit perplexing. Heck, English is my first language and I now and again find the text as written perplexing. And I'm reasonably good at figuring things out.

  • It's just the base number, not your intelligence score or any other stat. Note that the proficiency bonus is 2 at first level, so it adds up to 10 + modifier at first level, 11 + modifier at fifth level, 12 + modifier at ninth level and so on.

  • Base number for Save DC

    The spell save DC is 8 + proficiency bonus + intelligence modifier. At level 1 with a Int of say 15 (which mod is +2), you'd have 8 + 2 + 2 = 12.

    For attack there isn't a base. Your spell Attack is your intelligence modifier + proficiency bonus. Using the the example of a level 1 with 15 Int, you get 2 + 2 = 4.

License under CC-BY-SA with attribution


Content dated before 6/26/2020 9:53 AM