At what levels do the various types of armour start to appear in Skyrim?

  • I was wondering at what levels do the various types of armour start to appear?

    For instance right at the beginning hide/studded is the more prevalent armor type (from memory) However I'm now level 18 and starting to see bits of Elven armour creep in to bandit chief loot, etc.

    I remember seeing glass at around level 25 and ebony at 30

  • Justin Z

    Justin Z Correct answer

    9 years ago

    Copied from another post:

    The full Heavy Armor progression is (with very rough levels):

    • Iron (lv 1)
    • Steel (lv 6)
    • Dwarven (lv 12)
    • Steel Plate (lv 18)
    • Orcish (lv 25)
    • Ebony (lv 32)
    • Dragonplate (lv 40)
    • Daedric (lv 48)

    The full Light Armor progression is (with very rough levels):

    • Hide (lv 1)
    • Leather (lv 6)
    • Elven (lv 12)
    • Scaled (lv 27)
    • Glass (lv 36)
    • Dragonscale (lv 48)

    Clothing doesn't progress, rather the enchantments get more powerful as your level increases.

    Source: this answer by Cloudancer

    I'm not sure that's accurate. Dragonscale is only available through crafting.

    Both Dragonscale and Dragonplate can appear as loot, most of the time the pieces you find are enchanted with strong (Or sometimes not so strong) Enchantments, neither of them are only be obtained through Smithing. I found a Dragonplate Shield with 70% Frost Resistance as a loot item in the chest after killing The Caller in Fellglow Keep.

    I have encountered ebony at level 31.

    not true, it definitely appears as random loot from level ~50, but I think you might need the smithing *perk* before that starts to happen.

License under CC-BY-SA with attribution

Content dated before 6/26/2020 9:53 AM